Michel Platini: “If Messi wins again, it’s because he deserves it”

Michel Platini was awarded the Ballon d’Or on three consecutive occasions (’83, ’84 and ’85). Lionel Messi may outdo him this season. “Records are there to be beaten. He’s 25 years old and has every opportunity to leave his mark for all eternity.

Lionel Messi and Michel Platini

Messi has also received the backing of the majority of players to have won the Ballon d’Or. ‘France Football’ asked 13 of them for their verdict. Seven opted for the Argentinean, three for Cristiano Ronaldo, one for Iniesta and Pirlo and two abstained. Messi’s electors consists of Raymond Kopa, Luis Suárez, Kevin Keegan, Karl-Heinz Rummenigge, Marco Van Basten, Matthias Sammer and Andriy Shevchenko. Gianni Rivera, Ricardo Kaká and Franz Beckenbauer opted for the Real Madrid’s striker. Andrés Iniesta and  AndreaPirlo received a consolation vote from Fabio Cannavaro,while Alfredo Di Stéfano and Luis Figo preferred not to venture an opinion.

No Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

+ 8 = nine

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>